Frames, Green, Rustle and Sweet Tea

Terasi : An Undisclosed Case

Today I’ll try to write in English, A blogger named Lucky DC said, “ Jangan pernah takut untuk belajar termasuk pake Bahasa Inggris.. Just do it bro”. Then, I thought that sounds good since I don’t use English frequently every day. So, I take it as practice and refresh my English. You might find some parts are out of grammar, lol, yeah my bad.

The story below is kind of funny story. It happened in a boys house, where all boys students stay with free accommodation (but food) from the company in US. Oh, It was an internship program actually. So, I worked there as intern.

That day, about 4 pm, I was so exhausted by work, mixing fertilizer made me like a slave! I laid down on my bed, turned on my laptop, then fell asleep quickly without changing my clothes. I might sleep for about an hour, then my laptop was ringing… I opened my eyes, and grabbed the mouse. It was Skype calling, who’s calling? I was wondering.

Toni! He’s my only Indonesian friend stayed in upstairs. My room was in downstairs or basement, he actually just need to walk down easily to my room. But calling me? For what?

“Yes, Ton…”

“Hey Prima, Ok, I want you to know, there is an terrible smell in kitchen right now. All you need to do is say: DON’T KNOW, okey??”

“Eh? What smell?”

“It’s Terasi… I fried it just now. Ok, go to upstairs and we will talk about this, bye!”

Terasi? What the heck he’s doing with that stuff? Does he have it? Since when?

Terasi was kind of special ingredient from Indonesia, Southeast asia generally. hmmm they call “Shrimp Paste” in English, some people here call it acan, or belacan. It smells like rotten shrimp actually. They mix it in many food or sauce. Mostly people like it in Indonesia, but I admit the smell is too strong, even awful for westerners, for sure.

I was still on my bad, tried to think what should happen after that… no more than 5 minutes, I heard someone from upstairs start bitching, then I heard someone else shouted out “Close the door!” Wow, that must be worse than I thought.

I slowly opened my door, and I was shock by the smell in the air. :shock: Terasi smell! My God, I was be able to smell it even in downstairs, should be worse in upstairs. I walked in downstairs corridor and start thinking how stupid Toni did. It is like “in purpose disaster”!😆

“Hey Prima, Do you smell it?” Isaac, My Brazilian friend suddenly opened his door which is next to my room.

“Eh? Yeah…it’s very.. very bad” I said awkwardly.

“Bad? Oh man, this is so-so-fu*kin-bad, It can kill me!”

“Where does it come from?” I acted like I don’t know.

“I don’t know! Should be from upstairs, kitchen in particular”

We walked to the stairs, and Isaac suddenly pointed dirty boots next to the stairs. “I bet the smell from this shit!” He closed his nose by hand.

“Are you sure?”

“Yes, this is Swid’s, he’s totally smell like a cow!”

Swid is student from Egypt who just came to the company about 2 weeks ago. His previous work in dairy farm made him smell totally like cattle, lol. His jacket was the one I couldn’t stand for. I don’t know about his boots, should be worse! His room actually in downstairs, near from my room.

“Oh man, I can’t. I need back to my room, I start got headache, this shit.. arrrggghhhh”

Isaac back to his room before we reached upstairs, and close his door without stop cursing. Ups, Isaac didn’t know that was not the boot’s smell. I feel bad coz I knew the truth.🙄

I went straight to kitchen, and I found 3 of my friends looked so busy looking for something, their face were totally upset. I could see the little smoke was still occupying the kitchen.

“Hey Prima, Help us to find this shit!” Art, Ukrainian student had red faced with anger.

“Ok, later, I need to see Toni first…”

I ran away to Toni’s room. Toni opened the door quickly, seems like he was expecting my coming for long time. He admitted he fried Terasi to add later in his vegetables, but the smoke like blew out excessively. He lately realized that the smell might cause a local-disaster, so he decided to throw away the terasi on the back yard, make sure the evidence disappeared. Believe me, Toni did crazy mute-laughing along he told me, and yeah, I turned laughing either😀 such two sinners laughed after did a criminal.

I went out from Toni’s room while I heard Art was shouting to Swid “ You’d better check your stuff and go clean it up!” God, seems like the situation was getting worse in the kitchen.

We were 9 students in the house. 3 students was busy in the kitchen and blaming Sweed cause all that smell, 1 student tried to convince to them that was not him (Swid), 1 student still was pretending asleep (Toni), 1 student appeared like innocents do nothing (me), and the others chose to lock the door hoping the smell didn’t get into their room.

Art and Swid quarreled over the question who the one must be responsible for. I felt totally guilty, especially to Swid who I knew was innocent. He’s kind of most junior here, and his position is really not good.

“I am sure the smell came from kitchen! Swid, I need you clean your fridge right now!”

“What! Hell no man… I do nothing, I even wondering what’s this???”

I had an idea that time, I asked everybody to open all the windows and doors, let the fresh air coming. Yeah it worked! I remember Swid said it might be a dead mouse was rotten somewhere. But Art and others seemed not believe him. The situation cooled down a little bit after all. I actually felt like I couldn’t do anything since I knew the truth, but in the same time I also promised to Toni to keep this case as a secret. He is my only Indonesian friends anyway. We need support each other, right?😆

**

Next day, in lunch time. We all students usually got lunch together in a big table near kitchen.

Art: “Hey Swid, have you cleaned your boots?

Swid: “Yeah… but It was not my boots…”

Art : “whatever…”

*

AJ : “Hey, Toni where were you yesterday?

Toni: “ehmmm.. I was sleeping men, tired…” (Toni face looked awkward)

AJ : “What’s that? Sauce? May I try?”

Toni and me suddenly shocked. AJ asked about a hot sauce named: sambal terasi. We afraid that AJ would recognize the similar smell like last evening.

AJ: “Hmmm, this is the same smell like yesterday…”

>>>> Toni’s face became pale, and I couldn’t even swallow my food that time. :shock:

Art: “Sure? Give it to me…”

AJ: “maybe…”

Art : (smelling the sauce) “Hmmm…No! That was worse than this…”

8)

CASE CLOSED! Though it was an UNDISCLOSED CASE… Hahahahhaha…😀

No body know the truth until we finish our internship. No body but me and Toni.

This is actually funny yet shameful experience. Indonesian students must be more careful to work with Terasi. Believe me they think it was shit. Rotten shit. LOL😀

***

19 responses

  1. Fiuhhhh… sorry for a long writing, hope you understand…🙄

    9 November 2010 at 8:50 PM

    • Selain panjang saya juga kurang paham artinya😀
      Oke, yang penting tetap semangat, dan saya suka sambel terasi nya..🙂

      9 November 2010 at 10:56 PM

      • Duh, maaf mas.. hahhhaahah… saya juga sih😛

        9 November 2010 at 11:32 PM

  2. beautiful post!
    tanpa terasi, sambel ga ada enaknya😀 hehehe…

    9 November 2010 at 10:56 PM

    • Thanks mas Fir’aun… betul2…

      9 November 2010 at 11:33 PM

  3. sambal terasi…….I lile it…..hahhaha
    salam hanhgat

    9 November 2010 at 11:27 PM

    • kayanya semua orang suka ya… salam hangat juga mas…

      9 November 2010 at 11:35 PM

  4. Sambel terasi klo makan pake sayur asem duh enak banget dahh🙂

    9 November 2010 at 11:42 PM

    • Iya bener, dan untungnya sekarang dah ada yang pake botol, jadi kalo di luar negeri gak perlu menzolimi orang lain, hahahahah… kalo di indo mah…cuek!😀

      9 November 2010 at 11:45 PM

  5. Ha ha.. untuk sambel terasi saya posisi netral deh..😀

    10 November 2010 at 5:25 AM

    • netral itu gimana ya? mungkin ada gak ada tetep makan…wkakakakkakkaka..😀

      10 November 2010 at 6:56 AM

  6. aslih

    toni.? sure dude… loool

    10 November 2010 at 7:47 AM

    • Yeahhhh..you knew him… LOL, I changed all the names in purpose…😛

      10 November 2010 at 8:25 AM

  7. promote or not..????

    but i proud when you post this article.. coz, terasi is special block paste or sauce from Indonesia.. very salty and pungent, this is fish flavors like teri fish and others.

    elegant way to promote Indonesian sauce like terasi…

    give my warm hugs for your friends and nice to know you prima… so sorry i can’t speak English well… then i write it…. What…!!!!!!!! LOL,

    10 November 2010 at 9:41 AM

    • Hahhahahaha…seneng banget nih, dapet komen heboh begini, hahahahhah…😀
      Thanks mbak Jum… gak mau promosi sih mbak, cuma mau bilang kalo masakan indonesia itu punya senjata pemusnah massa yang bikin apa2 jadi enak, wkakakakkaka…sama aja!😀

      10 November 2010 at 9:50 AM

  8. it’s must be unforgettable moment about terasi paste for sure…….🙂
    i don’t know about that extreem effect of terasi paste, because i have friend (US nation) whose likes sambal terasi , eventhough he’s not live in here and this must be rare , isn’it Prima?
    anyway, this story makes me laugh after all……….😀
    best regards

    10 November 2010 at 10:48 AM

  9. Americans generally have “internasional taste”, they used to get a lot various food from foreigner like Indian, Chinese and Mexican. We can say they open minded enough to try different food. I noticed that. Americans said Rendang taste like Mango mix with Ginger, LOL.

    But, my friends were from Europe which is never-ever try such a strong spicy food (ndeso gt lho Bunda). They hate the smell. I bet they will pass out if they try Rendang! LOL…

    Have a good day Bunda..

    10 November 2010 at 11:08 AM

  10. Gyahahahaha, dasaaaaar buleee…😆
    Jangan2 mereka gak kuat bau durian juga?😛

    12 November 2010 at 5:59 PM

    • Gak tau ya kang…mungkin, susah nemu durian di sana…😛

      12 November 2010 at 6:08 PM

Leave a Reply

